Board of Directors

BOD 2018.jpg

Pictured from left to right:
Donna Younger (Vice Chair), Valerie Ridgway, Joe Guyer, Mary Gail Ford, Linda Plegge, Ted Wiemann, Bill Heffernan, Troy Heinritz (Chair), Derek Giromini (Secretary)

As a divinely commissioned organization, God calls upon leadership to spur on growth, purity, outreach, and holiness – to embrace the work of God for the whole of the Body functioning together (note 1 Corinthians 12-14). A Board of Directors, consisting of nine people, is elected to serve from within the church body.  The charge of the Board is to “Ensure that the Strategic Focus of the congregation is the driving force for all activities and related ministries.” (Board Policy Manual 2.1.1) This Board functions in a way that forms an interdependent governance between the congregation, the board and the pastor(s).  While the Pastor and Pastoral team(s) serve to provide leadership, they are ultimately accountable to the Board and the Board is accountable to the congregation.

Board members are to be qualified based on the spirit of 1 Timothy 3, Titus 1, Acts 6, and Galatians 5.  In other words, they are to be of high Christian character, maturity, and integrity. Board members are limited to a maximum of two consecutive 3 year terms before they are required to rotate off the Board for at least one year.  

If you should have any questions about serving at Prince of Peace as a member of the Board of Directors, or know someone you believe would be a good candidate, please use the submit your questions to the Board form. 

Meet Your Board Members